Log 2B: Interface In Real Life

As a college student, I sometime pack things I think I’m going to use and I never do.

For example, my tiny Black and Decker Iron.

There it is! My iron. Isn't it cute?

There it is! My iron. Isn't it cute?

Now, is there a reason I never use it? Or am I going to have to start immediately.

I look it over for a bit, then I’m confused.

Two knobs. Uh-oh.

Two knobs. Uh-oh.

I’m used to seeing one knob on an iron, always leaving it on cotton and hoping for the best. Two of them? I’m guessing the larger one is the one for choosing fabric.

It has numbers. Am I right about this being for fabric type?

It has numbers. Am I right about this being for fabric type?

This is the bottom of the iron, matching the numbers to the fabric. That's one knob solved.

This is the bottom of the iron, matching the numbers to the fabric. That's one knob solved.

The other knob.

The other knob.

This other knob looks like it would be for steam levels, since the cloud is depicted on it. However, the other dial had the same steam symbols. So do they both control the steam levels? What if I only set one button and not the other? How much steam would be used? Does the steam come from two different places or are they controlled together? I would hate to use this and ruin any of my clothes. And I would probably never use it again for I wouldn’t want to ruin anything. I would blame myself and the item, but knowing what I do know, the design is not as clear as it should be to make this work.  The visibility is there, but it’s confusing. One of the symbols needed to be different or on neither of the knobs.

Leave a Reply

